Google and “Spammy Requests”

Your query looks similar to automated requests from a computer virus or spyware application.

Google and “Spammy Requests”

comments below

This morning I did a search on Google for:

inurl:.edu photoshop class

The first results included tons of non edu sites that did not have .edu in the URL. Strange. So I figured maybe I needed to troubleshoot a little and after changing the language preferences from portuguese to english and the number of results to 100, I got this crap:

Spammy Request from Google

We’re sorry…

… but your query looks similar to automated requests from a computer virus or spyware application. To protect our users, we can’t process your request right now.

We’ll restore your access as quickly as possible, so try again soon. In the meantime, if you suspect that your computer or network has been infected, you might want to run a virus checker or spyware remover to make sure that your systems are free of viruses and other spurious software.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and hope we’ll see you again on Google.

 

The thing is, this wasn’t an automated query! It was just me typing on my keyboard and clicking with my mouse. I know, I know - Only an evil black hat spammer could want photoshop classes ONLY from edu sites. Clearly there can be no legitimate use for this query.

Better sound the alarm and tell me that I probably have a virus or spyware!

We know in the past that Google decided to cripple their backlink checker to reduce “spammy requests.” Now they are going to cripple thier inurl command?

I have this feeling that some day I’ll be sitting with my (still-to-be-concieved) son and he’ll turn to me and say:

“Dad, Tell me about back in the day when Google didn’t suck.”

bookmark this article:
  • reddit
  • digg
  • netscape
  • del.icio.us

24 Responses to “Google and “Spammy Requests””

 

Yep, but Google already sucks :p

Well fuck me backwards and then some, I tried the same thing and got the same daft message :(

Dude, check your user agent settings I always get this page when I try to search on Google disguising myself as Googlebot

happend to me also. but on nomal queries and i never used automated programs to query from here. happens from time to time.i noticed this first 1 month ago

Ehehe… não sabia que se falava português por estes lados ;)

Generally i don’t mess with the useragent - and not in this particular case either. It’s just firefox.

I’ve got that error quite a lot of times. I believe the first time I say it was back in the spring of 2004. Usually I got it after slamming Google with hundreds to thousands of requests from the same ip. But sometimes also without any prior action that should indicate my legit searches as spammy requests.

I’m thinking it was the changing of language.
Real people don’t need to do that, didn’t you know? ;)
Real people only ever search in one language.

(Quadz is really a robot! So much is explained! [duck])

I can’t explain the robot thing, but using site: instead of inurl: will get rid of your initial problem!

Do you really get banned? I’m a little hesitant to try it.

Does anyone else give a similar result? (Yahoo, MSN, etc.) Hey, if Google excludes enough people, eventually one of the other SEs will finally gain some marketshare!

The times where I get that the most are while searching for inurl: then usually something like shoutbox (I think you know where this is going), but I also got it while searching for open company cams. It is funny that the more something is searched for the more it is likely to be called spam… pretty soon you will get spammy requests when searching for porn… haha.

one step at a time, taking away all that they gave us. Good find, but pretty stupid on google’s part.

its really old news, its was used to prevent google hacking (using google to find vulnerabe sites to common exploits),

Check if you haven’t use a proxy.

Dude. That stuff happens all the time to me especially on days when I am running Web position or some other auto query tool. It’s not your query that is spammy, it’s your IP. Once they ID you they will block requests (any requests) until you fill in the gobbledy-gook letters manually. It helps to have different IP’s set up.

Try your search like this: allinurl: photoshop class site:.edu
I got 115 results.
This was interesting, but not as much as a bookmark to EBSCO in your screenshot.

If you do get banned by google all you have to do is change the IP of your box.

Actually this has been going on for a while. I participated in a SEO and kept checking my link: content and I guess my opponents did too and next you know that message came up. I think it comes up when the same IPs keeps requesting the same query. But don’t worry this lasted about a week and it was back up again.

Thank You

[…] Leyendo un post de seoblackhat me encuentro con que haciendo una busqueda normal en google como inurl:.edu photoshop class aparece el mensaje de error tipico que se muestra cuando se hacen mas de 1000 gets en un periodo corto de tiempo desde la misma ip , es decir cuando son busquedas automatizadas desde un robot para conseguir mails, hacer spam indiscriminado o cualquier otra cosa , este es el mensaje de error de Google que aparece: Lo sentimos… pero en estos momentos no podemos procesar su solicitud. Un virus de ordenador o software espía nos está mandando solicitudes automáticas y, al parecer, su red o su equipo ha sido infectado. […]

[…] Ok, others have reported similar behaviors, but they were doing a bit more advanced (and suspect) searches .. what the hell is suspect in a doughnut search?? Anyway, after some research I found something more… […]

Google shows this result usually at 3rd page (if 100 results per page).
And usually it show it when yours request contain “inurl” request.

Advice from me to you :)
-Use :
“blablabla” -intext:”blablabla” -intitle:”blablabla”

-Insted of
inurl:”blablabla”

Translated to you from my SEO blog: http://kak-tak.com/seo-6.php ;)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.